skip to main content
HHS Students Receive Honorable Mentions at Kentucky Youth Assembly (KYA)
Posted On:
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Kentucky Youth Asssembly
Kentucky Youth Asssembly

HHS Students Receive Honorable Mentions at Kentucky Youth Assembly (KYA)


Fifty-three Hopkinsville High School students attended High School KYA (Kentucky Youth Assembly) in Louisville and Frankfort, KY November 19-21.   KYA is a  3-day experiential learning program in which students serve as part of a model state government.  KYA offers students the opportunity to learn about a wide variety of issues, develop critical thinking skills, and articulate their beliefs while engaging constructively with their peers around the Commonwealth.  There was over 1600 students attending this conference and the largest conference ever in the history of the Kentucky YMCA.  

The HHS delegation did an outstanding job while at KYA and served in many roles: 

Koby Batts - Candidate for Executive Office 

Riley Fort - Justice of Supreme Court

Dustin Wilcox - Assistant Editor Media Corps

Garrett Pyle - Media Corps

Chairperson- Edward Lee Major & Preston White

Parliamentarians - Shaelee Tate & Leah Putty

Bill Authors - Skylar Ray, Lexy Oatts, Ethan Bailey, Sydni Henagan, Hayden Woosley, Joshua Bush, Joey Chaudion, Greer Givens, Megan Grace, Maxwell Bauserman, JB Morse, Ella Falco, Averie Turner, Karenna Chaudoin, and Connor Gary


Awards/Honors Received:

Koby Batts was elected President of the Senate, he will serve in this role at the 2018 KYA

Outstanding Speaker - Preston White

Outstanding Delegate - Greer Givens

Outstanding Justice Member - Riley Fort


HHS KYA Advisors: Kim Batts & Troy Goode

Chaperones: Bev Fort, Angie Pace, Megan Parrent

Bus Driver/Chaperone: Wayne Holloway


Report submitted by Ms. Kim Batts.


Koby Batts

Koby Batts received the title of President of the Senate


Preston White

Preston White received an Outstanding Speaker award.


Riley Fort

Riley Fort served as a Justice in the Supreme Court.


Greer Givens

Greer Givens received an Outstanding Delegate award.